Patient Safety Award

Patient Safety Award

The Award

The College of Pharmacists of Manitoba (CPhM) Patient Safety Award recognizes the achievement of an individual pharmacist, a group of pharmacists, an interdisciplinary group (that includes a pharmacist or pharmacists as key participants) or a pharmacy organization that has made a significant and lasting contribution to improving patient safety and health care quality through a specific initiative or project.

Barbara Sproll (2016 Patient Safety)

As this year’s Patient Safety Award recipient, Barbara Sproll, since her graduation in 1981 from the Faculty of Pharmacy at the University of Manitoba, has dedicated her time, energies and passion to developing patient safety initiatives and policies in acute, long-term, and community care throughout the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority and beyond.

Ms. Sproll’s influence extends beyond Manitoba’s borders; Barb is connected across the country as a resource for various initiatives in which she has been involved and with her ties to colleagues around the world, has placed Winnipeg on the map and shared our provincial experiences with them.

Ms. Sproll is consistently focused on the needs of the patient, advocates on their behalf and, in her capacity as regional medication safety pharmacist for the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority, develops global systems to reflect her commitment to enhancing patient safety.


Venetia Bourrier
Cenzina Caligiuri
Susan Lessard-Friesen
Scott McFeetors
Gayle Romanetz
2015 Janice Coates