Award of Merit

Award of Merit

The Award of Merit is bestowed upon an active member of Pharmacists Manitoba in recognition for active participation and promotion contributing to the benefit of Pharmacists Manitoba and the Profession of Pharmacy. This award was established for initial presentation in 1995.

To view recipients from previous years, please click here.

Pharmacists Manitoba Award of Merit: Sheila Ng

Sheila Ng graduated from the University of Manitoba in 2004 with a Bachelor of Pharmacy. She started her practice as a community pharmacist at Shopper’s Drug Mart in Powell River, British Columbia. It was in this beautiful coastal community that she started her family and grew as a pharmacist enjoying the close interprofessional and patient relationships that a smaller community foster.  

In 2011, Sheila returned to her hometown of Winnipeg and began a position as an instructor in the pharmacy practice stream at the University of Manitoba, College of Pharmacy while working as a relief community pharmacist. 

Her position at the College grew and she undertook to complete her PharmD through the University of Colorado graduating in 2018. Patient-centered care with a focus on optimizing patient safety and health outcomes is what drives her work. 

Since her return to Winnipeg, Sheila has been active in promoting and supporting the profession of pharmacy within Manitoba. She served on the Pharmacists Manitoba (formerly Manitoba Society of Pharmacists) Board of Directors from 2013 to 2015 during which time she served as the Chair of the Professional Relations Committee. Since then she has been an active member on various committees including the Professional Relations Committee and Conference Planning Committee. She also served on the Pharmacists Manitoba Board of Directors as the College of Pharmacy Liaison from 2018 to 2021. Additionally, she has been involved with the College of Pharmacists of Manitoba on various committees including the Safety IQ Advisory Committee and Quality Assurance Committee.  

Sheila is married to her wonderful husband, who has supported her through all her endeavors over the years and has 3 energetic boys. In her spare time, she enjoys hiking and exploring the great outdoors.